Visiting Stonehenge

Dieser Beitrag ist auch in deutscher Sprache verfügbar.

In April while traveling the British Isles we stopped by at the famous Stonehenge near Amesbury, England.  I had heard that it is supposed to be very touristy and due to that would not feel as mysterious, anymore.  And I disagree.  Yes, it is a tourist place.  Of course, as it is famous and everybody wants to see it – just like me.  And yes, you cannot go to the stones, climb and touch them and take a piece of them home.  Considering, that even the lichens and mosses on the anchient stones are of a special compounding – which is kind of a mystery itself – I find this appropriate.  Yet, what you are seeing when you visit this place is a 5000 year old monument orientated towards the rising sun on midwinter solstice.  It has seen more than we can imagine.  What we know about it is still a mystery which even leaves the science speechless.  What I felt when I have been there was a great power talking to and embracing me.

All photos are raw pictures taken with the camera of my mobile phone.