Attention Brings Clarity

A post on how attention affects clarity by my husband Kim Kersey:

Kim Kersey Blog

Clarity

ATTENTION BRINGS CLARITY

Yesterday I cleaned the bathroom.  I like a clean bathroom – cleaning the bathroom I like less.  I notice that when I now go into the bathroom, it welcomes me with fresh, clean look and feel.  My arms and knees remind me this is not magic. My experience relishes it just the same.

I find that cleaning or organizing can be a good metaphor for putting our attention on something.  When something is not to our liking we notice a resistance to thinking about it.  Without pushing back on that resistance, we can choose to simply be with the experience of that resistance.

In this way we give it our attention, but not our energy.  When the energy is not there, the worry and judgment can not take hold and escalate the experience into a cloud of confused discomfort.

We can respond to our desire for clarity and…

View original post 142 more words