The Hand We Are Dealt

The latest post of my husband Kim – about talent, envy, belief systems and growth.

Kim Kersey Blog

Clarinet pic © 2013 Stefanie Neumann

I have always been envious of musical talent in others.  In my early teens as I was trying to think my way into a career path, I found myself facing the fact that my own talents were merely moderate and my musical mind too blunt to allow for a successful career.  Encouragement from teachers or friends felt good.  I was not convinced.

I was torn between believing that only a great desire on my part could fuel a musical career – a desire I did not possess – or believing that only sufficient talent would open door after door and that process would always compel me to continue, all the while supporting my happiness and success.

I believed that those that I deemed successful had great talent and great opportunity.  These successful ones had great teachers, supportive family, friends, teachers and protégés.  I believed their life was happy because they…

View original post 617 more words