I Do Not Know and that’s Okay

I Don't Know and that's Okay © Stefanie Neumann - All Rights Reserved.

“Plants don’t worry about knowing or not knowing. They just are.” -Stefanie Neumann

Dieser Beitrag ist auch in deutscher Sprache verfügbar.

Today, it often seems to me that we live in a world where we are expected to have an answer to everything.

How are you? – Fine.

What are you doing for a living? – I do XYZ.

Where are you going? – I am going to ABC.

What will you be doing five years from now? – Oh, I will have achieved this and that.

It is a world of instant reaction. No time to pause. No space to check-in with ourselves. No time to notice the Now.

The Straight Road

We are repeating the same phrases, every day.

“I’m fine.”

“I earn my money with this job.”

“When I am big, I want to be like that.”

And for some of us that works just fine.

For me, it does not.

I increasingly notice that I just don’t have an answer for those questions, anymore. I don’t know what my job is – my calling. I don’t know where I am going. And I certainly don’t know where I will be five years from now. Heck, sometimes I don’t even know how I am in this moment.

All those questions, plans and ideas we have learned to follow are very linear. They presume that life is a long, straight road that you can see to the end.

This never really worked for me and it now becomes more and more impossible for me to live that way.

The Winding Trail

The thing is: the world is shifting. Energies are shifting. And life is not linear anymore – if it ever was.

Well, at least mine is not. It’s not a long, straight, broad road I can see to the end. I am walking off the trodden paths on a narrow, winding, overgrown trail that reveals a new perspective at every step of the way.

Energy is moving in a spiral. It’s curvy, twirling up or down and not always foreseeable.

I do not know what’s lying ahead of me and that’s okay. I do know that all is well. That’s enough to know.”

–Stefanie Neumann

In her post Lessons from a Stone: Embracing Your Rough Edges on Thank The Now, Clara Jones asks:

Does this activity/project/relationship/object add to the beauty of my life or take away from it?”

–Clara Jones

I am finding that a good sign post along the winding trail.

It’s Our Choice

We were taught that it feels comforting to know what lies ahead of us and to have a plan. I guess, there was a time when this was appropriate and just the way the world worked. I feel that those days are over, though. A new path is opening for us and a new way things may be done.

In her post Leaving Your Comfort Zone, Kelly Martin says:

When we are ready, we leave our comfort zones, but always when we are ready.”

–Kelly Martin

It seems, many of us are at this point of choice, right now. I surely am. And I am doing each step when I am ready to do so. Today, I start with one little step by saying:

I don’t know. And that’s okay.”

–Stefanie Neumann

What kind of path are you on? Is it a long, broad avenue or a winding, overgrown trail? Or does it look completely different?   Did you ever feel like you have to step out of your comfort zone?

Much love,
Steffi