Heart versus Mind – Really?

Heart versus Mind - Really? © Stefanie Neumann - All Rights Reserved.

“A goal is not always meant to be reached, it often serves simply as something to aim at.” -Bruce Lee

Dieser Beitrag ist auch in deutscher Sprache verfügbar.

Everything is happening exactly at the right time. The question is with how much ease and joy we make it there. “

-Stefanie Neumann

Do you know this? One is making plans and is willing to push through them, whatever may come. And when the time comes, the heart says:

„Nay. Not today. “

How often do you listen to your heart when that happens? Is it easy of hard for you to engage with it?

Meanwhile, I nearly always listen to what my heart tells me. Even, if it seems insane, at first, to my mind.

Why?

Because in my life I experienced that it is the best I can do.

It admittedly tugs on my mind quite a bit, at times. Yet, over time my mind noticed that, in fact, all is well.

Mind Loves Data

Somewhere I once read that the mind needs empirical data it can rely on to feel safe. When we try something new such data does not exist, yet. And when we try something which stands against everything that our own environment exemplifies we cannot even rely on the experience of the group.

Our society seems to be dominated by organization. Responsible action is equated with forward-thinking and three- to five-year plans. Where do you see yourself in one, three, five years? – Those who don’t have an answer to that are considered weak, befuddled or incapable.

But what if one wants to move beyond the limitations of their own imagination? If one wants to experience and create something new?

In this case we may allow ourselves new experiences. That, in turn, can be alarming for the mind, in the beginning.

In such a case it helps me to lovingly talk to my mind. One after the other I ask my heart and my mind for their opinion. I thank them and tell them, that I heard them.

Experiment “Adventure”

When the path of the heart seems all too frightening for my mind, I am asking her what she needs to join us.”

-Stefanie Neumann

Often it helps to start the journey as an experiment. This is something that my mind can understand. I ask her to carefully monitor what happens and collect the data accordingly. Ultimately, this is the natural purpose of mind: to collect, archive and analyse information. This way the mind can feel safe, again, as she now knows that she has a significant position as well as my attention.

At the end of such an experiment it always turned out that it was right to follow my heart. The reason why my heart chose that particular path and no other often only comes to light while walking the path.

Meanwhile my mind has enough empirical data to courageously follow the path of my heart. – Of course, once in a while there are some factors that seem frightening. But experience proved that probably all is well when we listen to our heart. Therefore, mind agrees with the path of the heart.

That’s how I do it.

How do you align heart and mind? Is it easy or hard for you? Do you have a “recipe” which you would like to share, here, in the comments?

Much love,
Steffi

 

 

Empty your mind, be formless, shapeless – like water. Now you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup, you put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle, you put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.”

-Bruce Lee