A Tribute to Halloween

A Tribute to Halloween 2014 © Stefanie Neumann - All Rights Reserved.

“I have learned things in the dark that I could never have learned in the light, things that have saved my life over and over again, so that there is really only one logical conclusion. I need darkness as much as I need light.” ― Barbara Brown Taylor, Learning to Walk in the Dark

Dieser Beitrag ist auch in deutscher Sprache verfügbar.

There, in the presence of God, I understood at last how my love would release us all from the powers of darkness. “

-Winona Ryder as Mina Harker in „Bram Stoker’s Dracula“

Halloween is nearly here and they are showing all kinds of horror movies on television, again. Recently they showed one of my favourites: “Bram Stoker’s Dracula” directed by Francis Ford Coppola.

As I see it

Unlike the book, the movie shows Dracula’s character as a broken, desperate soul that has fallen out of love rather than not being made of love. The quote above is from the end of the movie. Mina Harker, the reincarnation of Dracula’s big love from the 15th century, is torn between the love for her husband Jonathan and the love for her soul mate Dracula who has become undead and “crossed oceans of time to find” her again after her death in 1497. While the story moves along, Mina is more and more drawn into the magnetics of meeting her old soul mate until she even drinks Draculas blood to become a vampire herself. She doesn’t understand what is going on. She feels unclean at times, bad and evil. But in fact, she is not. She is “the light of all light” as Abraham van Helsing calls her when they meet for the first time. She even owns enough light to explore the darkness and redeem a tortured soul like Dracula himself – and by that the whole world.

An act of sacrifice or an act of love?

What I like about this version of the story is that the movie does not make it look like a sacrifice. Mina does love Dracula. She also loves Jonathan. She feels torn and desperate, at times. But she is always aware of her love. When we perform sacrifice, we do something that we don’t feel like doing. We feel like we have to give up something or like we are losing something. Like the virgin in the old movie “Nosferatu” (the silent movie).

When we act from love, it does not feel like losing anything. We might feel doubt and fear tearing on us. But we ultimately follow our heart which in effect brings a feeling of fulfilment for all.”

-Stefanie Neumann

It took me 22 years to find out that it is this which touches me so dearly at the end of that story.

Tell me why…

Why it feels important enough for me to share it, here?

Because, I have explored darkness in my life. I have been through experiences that made me feel like Mina must have felt. And the understanding of that it all came to a good in the end did not always show up as clear for me as it did for Mina.

Because, these things happen. People feel like they must go into the darkness. People feel love for those who have fallen out of love. And it is this love that brings peace to those seemingly lost souls who choose to come to terms with hatred and self-judgement.

And, because:

You cannot give this love when you are busy with judging yourself for actually loving … everything – even the dark.”

-Stefanie Neumann

In this sense:

Happy Samhain on October 31st!

 

Have you ever felt like Mina? Or have you even fallen out of love and found your way back? Would you like to share your insights about it in the comments?

Much love,
Steffi