Happy Thanksgiving 2016! – We Are All One.

Happy Thanksgiving 2016! - We Are All One. © Stefanie Neumann - All Rights Reserved. | #KokopelliBeeFree #KBFPhotography #KBFWalk

Dieser Beitrag ist auch in deutscher Sprache verfügbar.

I celebrated my first Thanksgiving as a guest at the table of a German friend who had arranged this feast together with our common friend Cloud Eagle.

Cloud Eagle was US-American, Nambé Pueblo and lived on the Nambé Reservation in New Mexico, USA.  It was his dream that all peoples would live peacefully together on this Earth.  He engaged himself very much with this, participated in meetings with elders of tribes from all over the world and shared his vision with all people who are open for it.

With him I experienced my first and to date only sweat lodge, years ago, when we were guests at his place on the Nambé Reservation.  With him I underwent my first sacred pipe circle.  From him I learned how to celebrate Thanksgiving.

Cloud Eagle told us the story of settlers from Europe who, in late November, were facing their first Winter in America.  Also, it would probably be their last Winter in the new home as they were hungry and freezing and they had nothing that could have brought them through the cold season of the year.  Yet, the resident Native Americans came to their aid and shared with the settlers from Europe what they had.  This was how Thanksgiving came into being:  As grateful commemoration of the friendliness which the European settlers experienced from the Native Americans.

This was long before I knew that I would someday marry an US-American.  Only much later would I also learn that this is not the commonly known history of this feast, and that some indigenous people in America even boycott this feast to make a stand against the oppression of the indigenous peoples by the European settlers.

I like the idea behind Cloud Eagle’s story.  I am sharing his vision to unite all peoples of the world in peace.  For me, Thanksgiving is an opportunity to commemorate him and celebrate this vision.”

-Stefanie Neumann

And, of course, it also is an opportunity to bring a bit of American tradition to Germany for my beloved husband Kim.

With this in mind:

A Happy Thanksgiving!

What are you grateful for, today?

Are you ready to shine a bright light of awareness on the path of beingness, today?

Much love,
Steffi

Merken

Merken